skip to Main Content

Follow-Up DDGC Town Hall: Job Market Crisis

In September 2020 DDGC hosted a Town Hall on the job market crisis in German Studies. Here is a report from the event: https://diversityingermancurriculum.weebly.com/ddgc-blog/report-ddgc-town-hall-on-job-market-crisis. We are hosting a follow-up event during which we would like to pick up on points raised and build more targeted advocacy campaigns. The next town hall will take place: Monday, Nov 16, 2020 3:30pm (PT)/5:30pm (CT)/ 6:30pm (ET). 

As with the first event, this is an opportunity for graduate students and contingent faculty in German Studies and adjacent fields to express needs and priorities as the already existing job market crisis becomes even more acute. What do you want faculty in secure positions to hear? To advocate for? To provide? 

Note: while people in all positions are welcome (we actively encourage tenured scholars to sign up), we wish to centre perspectives from graduate students, contingent faculty, and recent graduates who are unemployed or have had to choose employment in fields outside of academia because of lack of job opportunities within academia. We will focus on the North American context. 

To sign up for the event, follow this zoom registration link: https://ubc.zoom.us/meeting/register/u5cscOutqjspEtxxNKtyZnNjnWlJEd2VUGiq 

For more info on the DDGC Scholarly Collective, visit: https://diversityingermancurriculum.weebly.com

Back To Top